Cost of being a Professional Coach

“Why are you so expensive?  I have a friend that said they’ll train me for (Low Low Price)”

“I can’t pay you, but I will give you Biggest Loser level commitment and full benefits of advertising my results”

I’m sure you’ve heard similar.You might have even said something similar yourself.

I don’t discount or offer deals. I will not negotiate, and I’m certainly not out to be the lowest priced/quality trainer in town.

My clients will tell you that I provide an exceptional amount of information and service, that I have been known to rent equipment to them cost free and prompt in answering calls or texts. Some of these calls and texts come from deployed military personnel with nobody else to ask.

For every hour (or hour+) I spend with you, an equal amount of of hour time is dedicated to you and your program.

I see a maximum of three clients per day.  I formerly taught upwards of 20 per day, and realized that working with less people made me a better coach per person.

Being Strength Coach and Educator is my Profession. My fee pays for an education addiction.  I’ve completed one course already this year,will attending another at the end of this month simply for the opportunity to learn from a legendary strength coach.

A chunk of my earnings are reinvested back into specialized equipment. I’ve even bought equipment for one specific client, while rarely asking clients to buy equipment for their home use.

I help people move better, get stronger and live life.  I want to believe I make a difference.

If you feel my price is too high, then it is.  There will always be a lower-cost option out there, and typically many will fight tooth and nail in a race to the bottom.

You get what you pay for, or, You get what you given for the price you paid.

Caveat Emptor: As of this writing, a personal trainer certification IS NOT required to train another person within the United States. Literally anyone can call themselves a personal trainer or any other fancy title. The person you’ve hired to train you may not have even a minimum level of knowledge of how the human body works, and will take that lack of information and apply stress to it.

best-personal-trainer-certification

Cost of an entry level personal trainer certification earned from a legitimate organization*: $300-$700 average. There are numerous certifications available online that aren’t worth the paper they’re printed on.  If the trainer has a degree in Exercise Science or related field their investment, and subsequent student debt, is in or near the five digit range.

Cost of remaining a personal trainer: $100-$1k+ every recertification period. A specified amount of continuing education must be completed every 1-4 years (varies per agency,2 years being the most common) to maintain a certified personal trainer status.

Employment Realities: Commercial gyms have been known to hire people without any formal education. This includes some of the high-end places and not just the high-volume/low price gyms. The ability to sell personal training is valued over skill or education. It is entirely reasonable, and unfortunately common, that a talented or promising trainer with zero sales skills will be passed over for a trainer with sales skill and zero ability to train others.

Specialization. Specialization is considered optional and not all trainers pursue specialization. Costs range broadly from $250-$1k+ each. Some require out of state travel and proof of both physical competency and teaching skill. There are others taken completely online. A number of specializations require a re-certification to maintain them, as information and teaching continually improve. Some trainers hold multiple specializations and other upgrade their specializations as able.  For example, since I’ve obtained my first specialization related to corrective exercise/mobility (in 2013) I’ve already completed more advanced coursework and have another course set for the end of the year.  This is in addition to an uncountable number of hours spent reading about mobility and any tips and advice and given by colleagues with far greater knowledge in the area than I have.

Told you I have an education addition.

Sidebar: If your trainer states a specialization in an area or with particular tools, ask for proof.

Liability Insurance: For Independent contractors this is a $200 average every two years for a standard $1 million policy. Commercial trainers can be covered by their employer, but I urge all commercial trainers to review what their coverage thoroughly.

Other costs…Books, professional journals,equipment,membership sites and tons of little things add up. $0-several thousand per year. Some trainers (even certified ones) don’t read or attend workshops and will only pursue their continuing education when re-certification. looms near.

Leave a Reply

