Bro Knowledge

“You are about to witness the strength of Bro knowledge”

“Most personal trainers seem like they’re shady”

“How is it that any monkey can become a trainer? Some of these guy are real fu-king idiots.”  

“You’re one of the few good ones I’ve seen, and I’ve been in a lot of gyms over the years”  

“Based on what I’ve seen since I’ve been here, you’re the only trainer here I would trust to spot me or give solid advice.”

The people making these statements are not beginner lifters.  Among them are two Master class Powerlifters, A national record holder Super Heavyweight and a lightweight former world record holder. One happens to be working towards his Bachelors degree in Kinesiology and hopes to attend Physical Therapy school.  Given their accomplishments and gym reputations, their opinions can carry a lot of weight.

FACT: Bro’s notice things. They will talk about what they notice and more importantly, many of them are very smart. They may not know everything that goes into a being a personal trainer or providing service to a client, but they do know stupid stuff when they see it.

Nearly four years ago I wrote a blog based on some negative things a trainer had stated. I still believe they helped fuel my drive to continually improve. Looking back on things, I can honestly state I’ve learned quite a bit from the worst within the industry,.

The quotes below are his thoughts on personal training. Based on both current and recollected observations they are accurate of his practice.

“Working out isn’t fun” There is a grain of truth to this quote. Some sessions will take it out of you, at some point either physically and mentally you will find yourself humbled. All sessions should not, and realistically cannot be painted with the same brush. If anything, I want my clients to look FORWARD to training.  I want training to be the highlight of their day.

I offer the following considerations…

“Working out” isn’t training. Hard training is a relative thing, and hard isn’t automatically synonymous with necessary,effective,productive or optimal. Challenge however is important.

If you find yourself dreading the next session, or needing pre-workout stimulants just to prepare for things then you need to look at what you’re doing, or being told to do.

Something is wrong. The exercises may be a poor fit for you, are being incorrectly prescribed based on your current level or you are over/under-training.

“You can use the same workouts for everyone.” Digest version: No, you cannot.

There are many methods and tools in training, but the principles are few.
Individualization
Specificity
Overload and Progressive Overload
Variety
Rest and Recovery
Regularity and Diminishing Returns

For brevities sake I will deal with the first two principles, but all principles apply.

The principle of Individualization states that exercise should be specific to the individual performing the exercise. As people respond differently to exercise, the exercises and training program must be client defined and tailored to the persons unique needs and capabilities.

The principle of specificity states that exercises should be specific to the client’s goals.

“I’m blunt and straight forward with people. I’ll tell them they are fat, unhealthy and out of shape.” The words fat, unhealthy or out of shape themselves are harmless. It’s the context in how they are used.  In this case, they are used as weapons.

What good ever comes of this? Is it to make the less fat, comparatively fitter and healthier trainer feel better about themselves or to make the other individual feel worse?

pjmppdq

I suspect that deep down the trainer knows that he is not well suited for the job and feels the need to put down others…or he is just be an ass.

SIDENOTE: I blame the gym for hiring and maintaining him just as much as I blame him for not growing as a trainer.

I don’t think he realizes the words could also be used on a comparative basis, for example it wouldn’t be hard to run down to the local CrossFit box and find someone with lower body fat and broadly superior athletic abilities, then he would be the fat and out of shape guy.  

My personal and professional opinion, I honestly don’t believe the Trainer could even define what fat, out of shape or unhealthy actually mean.

He is still employed at the same minimum wage paying gym and hasn’t grown professionally in the least bit since (at least) 2012.

fullsizerender-2

Meanwhile, I keep moving forward and upwards.  This photo represents my last four months and doesn’t include other educational sources or the books I’m currently reading.  Three of these books had to be read two or three times, and that is not unusual for me.  That said, academics are not enough and one must be capable on the gym floor.

Leave a Reply

