It’s your Job (AKA Chris’s view on training)

Your life depends on your health.  What you do today impacts your tomorrow.  Try viewing your training (or practice) as a profession with life on the line instead of something you do simply to do to post on Facebook, Try viewing things with a long-term vision instead of a 30-90 day standpoint.

  “It doesn’t matter how much work you can do, it matters how much work you can recover from.”

I don’t train everyday,but I believe I could.  My current program calls for 5 days per week with two non-consecutive days off and three of those days have workouts twice in the day. Every morning I perform some mobility and flexibility work after waking up, go on short walks and  generally try to keep moving around.  Even when stuck behind the wheel of my car I am flexing muscles and moving my neck and shoulders and exercise my hands along my drive.  If I were I child you would say I’m fidgety.

On the 4th of July (a Sunday) I completed a self-designed workout as a blowout before starting a new program on 6 July.  Since Monday was a day off I figured I would push extra hard. I paid the price and hit the wall, knowing it was time to stop.

I have made the conscious decision not to post my more brutal workouts publicly and now only share them with others that I know can handle it.  The good news is when Monday came around I had already recovered well enough that I could have done a short workout without issue, so I have gained from the training.

A$$ kicking workouts are needed from time to time, but not every single workout need be crippling.  The objective is to get stronger, not simply sweaty and messy.

The lessons                                                                                                                                      1) Recovery is when the GOOD STUFF happens. Training is hell on the body, your immune system is compromised, inflammation has spread, muscles are damaged and the central nervous system is fried.  Recovery makes you stronger.
2) Recovery therefore, is just as important and practice.
3) Practice and train with focus. This is not the time to think about other things.
4) Listen to your body.  There is a time to attack, a time to stand your ground and a time to retreat.
5) Balance challenge and recoverability.

Leave a Reply

