Original Strength (AKA Chris starts crawling again)

I have been reading and following the works of Tim Anderson and Geoff Neupert and the Original Strength (OS) Training system over the past few months and have integrated the methods into my daily routines (including the now famous Billy Madison Kettlebell program) as well introducing the methods to some of my clients.

BABY YOGA To accompany Maggie Mallon Feature

This little one is working towards the one arm-one leg push up!

From Amazon.com  “When you were a child, you had an amazingly strong, resilient and healthy body. The body you built through movement during the first several years of your life was meant to be the foundation from which you would continue to add strength, power and resiliency. Your body was meant to be strong, graceful, powerful, fluid, mobile and resilient. You were never meant to be broken, weak, fragile, stiff or injured. You were never meant to just “fall apart” with age. ”

Rocking

The rocking position is good for helping with the squat pattern among other things.

When I first viewed the Original Strength movement patterns of breathing, rocking, rolling, crawling marching and neck nods a few thoughts entered my head.  (1) It looks like a less difficult mobile Yoga.  (2) It looks like it will be fun.  (3) It’s probably harder than it looks. (4) Could it be that simple?

image-189

 There are multiple versions of “segemented rolls” in which you lead the roll with either a leg, an arm or even your head.  Just like the way a baby would roll to their sides or bellies.

I view my training methods along a continuum between post-rehab on one end and performance on the other. Across the continuum fundamental movement patterns exist in order to develop performance skills whether they be simple or sophisticated. I am always looking for things that deepen my skills across the continuum.

After I started reading and playing around with the various patterns some new thoughts started forming pretty quickly: (1) Some patterns are deceptively challenging. (2) This seems to integrate well with other training methods.  (3) This could serve as a stand-alone training method to a degree. One thing that quickly became clear, I needed to learn more about this stuff.  So I reached out to some of my professional contacts….

“OS resets have been beneficial in my training program to heal from a shoulder tweak, allowing me to press again pain-free for 8 months! Rocking has been a favorite reset for clients with back issues.”                                                                                                                                                 Suzanne Ko, SFG,HKC ACE CPT, SKOFIT.com, Chicago,USA

“OS has helped undo the damage accumulated from improper training and helped me regain a lot of my mobility. I’ve had at least 2 blog posts for the OS website already.”                                         Mark Limbaga, SFG II,SFB.  Quezon City, Philippines.

baby-crawling-on-the-floor

A neutral spine, a elevated head, engagement of the anterior and posterior muscles, the vestibular system and the natural movement of the wrist, shoulder,hip, knee and ankle joints.  Try crawling after a baby for awhile and you’ll note how physically taxing it can be!

“OS has been incredible for us.  People have gained inches on their squats effortlessly, as well as naturally finding their knees tracking.  Alongside that people feel a sense of calm when they start with breathing, and happiness when they finish with skipping.  It’s pretty outstanding stuff.”

 Piers Kwan SFG II,CK-FMS, Qldkettlebells.com, Queensland,Brisbane Australia.

I’ve recently had the opportunity to pass on some of my rudimentary level knowledge of OS to another trainer and athlete and her experience with OS has been positive.

“OS has helped me create a greater awareness for the body and movement. There is beauty in simplicity. I’ve been doing resets during my warm ups and at home and love the concept of connecting with your center. I have seen improvements in my Tennis game, and training. Diaphragmatic breathing has also helped me cope with stress.”                                                 Elizabeth Coronado, NFPT CPT and Tennis competitor,Las Vegas USA                                                                                                                                                                             OS Books

For more information on Original Strength you can visit the website at OriginalStrength.net or on Amazon.com.   All OS testimonials were voluntary and none of us have received compensation in any form other than improving the lives of our clients and ourselves.

One thought on “Original Strength (AKA Chris starts crawling again)

  1. John Usedom

    Chris,

    Thank you for such a flattering piece. We truly appreciate your kind words and referrals. I’m not sure if you’ll also her from other members of our team, so forgive me if I’m asking a question one of them asked. May we use your piece or quote you in some of our materials?

    We’d love to help you also become an OS certified Coach.

    Continued Blessings,

    John Usedom

    Reply

Leave a Reply

