Things Learned

A bonus in developing a private forum for fitness professionals is having the opportunity to learn something new every day.  Since the groups inception two weeks ago this has been the case  and I am always on the lookout daily for new people to bring aboard.  The sudden influx of ideas, opinions and experiences has caused me to re-examine a few of my thoughts to various degrees and I am thankful for this.  Some trainers confine themselves to a single way of doing or looking at things, I myself try to be more open minded about things.

My practice in training continually evolves based on (a) the needs of my clients (b) where I see potential or (c) purely out of self interest.  At one point things leaned towards medical based exercise and special populations training, now I find the pendulum has swung in the opposite direction and I am more inclined towards long-term athletic development. I believe both paths are worthy and in time the pendulum will swing again.

StrongFirst

I view my continual education in terms of greatest value added.  I don’t consider what it will cost me, rather I consider what value will this bring and how can I apply it to the widest swath of humanity. Presently Kettlebell and mobility training, coupled with my other tools fits many bills quite well.  This is part of the reason why I am presently training for StrongFirst Kettlebell certification (SFG.)  I have seen far too many people simply guess their way through kettlebell movement and do not wish to add to their numbers.

Kettlebells as part of a mobility program has helped with the post-rehab conditioning of a CrossFit athlete.  Kettlebells, Mobility and Sandbags have helped an 55+ client that is intimidated by barbells and dumbbells perform resistance training and build muscle.  High Rep heavy swings are being used as part of a cardio strength training program to help a client drop another dress size.

USAW-logo-273x300

Now that I am working more with athletic populations, certification under USA Weightlifting (USAW) is also something that I am considering and would add another set of coaching skills to my toolbox. This however is far more limited in practical application and requires that I work in a facility set up for Olympic weightlifting.

Leave a Reply

