The Power of Community

as-iron-sharpens-iron1

The power of community in the fitness world has shown up throughout the years, from the days of muscle beach to the jogging craze, from Zumba to CrossFit, from Strongman to StrongFirst. In the modern era CrossFit stands as a popular example of community within a given sport/exercise method. The StrongFirst School of Strength (under Pavel) and Training for Warriors (under Martin Rooney) are also headed in this direction and represent international brother and sisterhoods.

Photo1-copy1martin-training-for-warriors-team

I recall what trainer and coach forums were like 15-20 years ago and see where many are now.  I have made some great friends through these forums, but take issue with board members who’s only purpose it seems is to antagonize or patronize others while contributing nothing of note to the group.  I missed how things used to be and decided that now was the time to begin building a new community.  I established and serve as administer of an online forum of personal trainers, strength coaches and other health and wellness professionals that currently stretches across the United States and multiple countries abroad including the Philippines,Canada and Australia.

PPAPVP4072

The power of community has shown itself again.  Professionals are asking questions and getting great responses from other dedicated professionals and not a single online fight has started.  As far as I am concerned I am 70x smarter simply by being around these awesome people.

One thought on “The Power of Community

  1. Sheri Kaminski

    Thanks Chris! I know that family and community has indeed made me better in virtually every aspect of my life! I am part of the Strong First Family, we refer to each other as “brothers and sisters in strength”. I also have my community of chosen family and friends. I am honored to be a part of this community as well! The more we can bounce ideas around and offer each other assistance and understanding. The more we support each other rather than compete against each other the stronger and more resilient we ALL are. Thanks and huggs…pt

    Reply

Leave a Reply

