MLM Rant

It’s been awhile, but I’m due for a rant.

Over the past several weeks I’ve been inundated with Multi-Level Marketers (aka MLM/ Network Marketing) to the point where I have temporarily left a trainers board that I was part of. Quite literally it seems that I cannot go 48 hours without getting into it with some BeachBody Coach, Advocare consultant, Isagenix, Herbalife, ViSalus or some other supplement MLM personality.

“Hi Chris, I see you’re a personal trainer and into health and fitness like me! I’m a Beachbody coach….”

OK stop right there. We are two VERY different types of coaches. I have yet to meet a self-respecting trainer/coach that tacks “Beachbody Coach” after their name. We typically like initials.

CSCS,RKC II,CF-L2,SFG,USAW,PES,CES,HFS,MES (We don’t spell stuff out.)

I have a wide range of professional influences, none of which have the title “Beachbody Coach” after their name.

I recently ran into a person that was promising “Lose 15lbs of weight in 21 days.” She attempted to avoid answering my questions in regards to her qualifications in weight loss, nutrition, personal training or wellness. I finally got my answer…She is a Spin Instructor at a YMCA.

Having spent a little time researching the various products I’ve come to a few following conclusions:

The MLM guys seem far more interested in getting me interested in selling their stuff.

The products may actually be pretty decent, however MLM is the worst way they could put the product out there.

Even if the product is quite good, the mark-up is really high due to all the residuals that have to be paid.

I don’t buy into the fact that a certain highly visible CrossFit athlete uses a particular brand as proof of its efficacy. The fact is he truthfully has used the product for sometime now, but that he couldn’t speak about due to the fact he was previously under contract to popular over the counter supplement.

I can understand the attraction that MLM’s hold for some trainers. Personal Training (and by extension CrossFit) are entrepreneurial by nature and supplements do factor into fitness plans for a number of goals. Once again, the product itself may indeed be very good quality but I have yet to meet a trainer that made a “ton of cash” trying to sell MLM products to other trainers.

I don’t blindly trust “published studies” produced by the company. In at least one case the published study was submitted to a “pay to publish” journal, which means the company would have been able to design the study to determine an outcome they want. “Pay to Publish” sends me the message that the company knows their crap is crap.

The founder of Herbalife died following a toxic lifestyle.
http://www.nytimes.com/2000/08/12/business/binge-led-to-death-of-herbalife-founder.html

Leave a Reply

