Beliefs

 

I believe that training to failure is good once in awhile. This is not meant for every goal or every client.  

I believe low intensity exercise is better than no exercise, but just barely.

I believe the words “get stronger” and “keep the workout comfortable” are not found in the same program.

I believe that not everyone that hires a trainer or joins a gym is serious about improving their fitness.  

I don’t  blindly believe everything I read even when it comes from an otherwise highly reputable source.  The gym floor, self experience, research journals. articles and lab studies all provide information and all have their inherent flaws. 

I believe that in sometimes firing a client is necessary.  

I don’t believe in singular methods of training.  I believe there is no single best method for everyone and that a program should be developed around the needs of the client.

I don’t believe all methods that share the same goal are equally effective.

I believe in teaching movement patterns over exercises.

I don’t believe a calorie is a calorie regardless of source.

I believe that people can start exercising at any time in their life. This includes children and the elderly.

I believe just as much training happens in the rest periods between sets as during them, if not more.

In a beginners programming I believe most exercises for out of shape or weak (but otherwise healthy ) clients should be performed standing instead of seated, and principally compound instead of isolating muscles. The exceptions would be handicapped or post rehabilitation clients.

Historically, I have yet to meet a client whose definition of “hard training” and mine matched. I believe that when a client says ” I like hard workouts” it is best to find out what their definition of the word hard really means.

That said, I believe it is risky for a client to tell an unknown trainer that they like “hard training”.  

I believe every client wants to achieve a level of mastery in their exercises.

I believe that if the client isn’t “getting it” in given exercise the correction is often found in field stripping, cleaning and oiling the technique, simplifying the coaching method or regressing them a simpler exercise. 

A clients physique or exercise tolerance may make certain exercises impossible.unsafe or ill-advised.  I believe that substitutes can always be found.

I believe that sometimes adding a little weight to a lift cleans a technique up.

I believe in the failure points in the clean,deadlift,bench press,pull up,chin up and row. In the squat, I believe I can always get one more rep.

In the trainer-client relationship, I believe three things make the difference between success and failure:
1. Ability to get along
2. Reliability
3. Putting in the work

Success can still be achieved if #1 is absent provided #2 and 3 are high.

Success is far less likely in the absence of # 2 or 3 no matter how great #1 is.  

Absence of of #2 affects #1 and 3.  Quite frankly, the trainer will likely put less effort into your programming.

Absence of #3 will only last for so long.  Measurable progression is key.

The best pairings have all three components.

I believe that client assessments are continual. Everyday you seek improvement.

I believe that a trainer can only manage what is measured.

I believe a trainer can be highly certified yet unqualified at the same.

I believe I would fire, or refuse to hire far more trainers than I would hire.

I believe I could go the rest of my career as a trainer without touching the hip adductor and abductor machines.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

