Personal Challenges

With all the free time I’ve had on my hands lately I’ve decided to take on a few personal challenges.

Image

LT. Michael P.Murphy, USN, Medal of Honor Recipient.

1. Complete the Murph WOD Rx’d and non-Rx’d.  I’ve already started the training and working out the partitions that will work best for me. When I get my time under 43 minutes non-Rx’d I’ll be happy.

From CrossFit.com: “Murph  For time: 1 mile Run, 100 Pull-ups, 200 Push-ups, 300 Squats,1 mile Run

Named in memory of Navy Lieutenant Michael Murphy, 29, of Patchogue N.Y., who was killed in Afghanistan June 28th, 2005. This workout was one of Mike’s favorites and he’d named it “Body Armour”  From here on it will be referred to as “Murph” in honor of the focused warrior and great American who wanted nothing more in life than to serve this great country and the beautiful people who make it what it is.  Partition the pull-ups, push-ups, and squats as needed. Start and finish with a mile run. If you’ve got a twenty pound vest or body armor, wear it.

Image

53 lbs of cast iron love about to be swung overhead 100 times in under 5 minutes.

2. Pass either the RKC or StrongFirst Russian Kettlebell credential.  I haven’t decided on which one as of yet.  Both organizations require an initial show of calisthenic strength (push-ups for the RKC,  pull-Ups/chin Ups for StrongFirst) and are highly demanding courses with 25-30% failure rates. Both require 100 kettlebell snatches to be performed in 5 minutes with a kettlebell weighing between 44-53lbs based on my body weight.  There is also the HKC certification, which is an entry level course for trainers and serves as an introduction to the Hardstyle kettlebell lifts.

Image

“Hey!!! Look at the old guy with the fat skateboard and skateboarding cane!”

“Shut up ya’ whipper-snappers!”

3. Teach myself Land Paddling.   I miss surfing and this seems like a reasonable substitute since the Bellagio fountain won’t cut it.

Image

I only took up two spots that time…totally nailed it.

4. Stop parking my car like a total d-bag.  I was actually really good with my old large SUV and am still good with my new mid-sized SUV…but I cannot not park Big Ben like a D-bag to save my life.

Image

Everyone else in Yoga class….

Image

Me in Yoga class..except not as calm looking, bald and in a sweaty and shirtless state. The trainer may have a Yoga background, but those arms were built by iron.

5. Stop getting my a$$ kicked in a Yoga class.  Honestly this is more about the instructor than myself, but I swear I must be doing something to bring this on.   Perhaps it’s trainers karma biting me in the butt during “Happy Baby” posture.

Image

I guess you could say Amazon and I are getting pretty serious.

6. Read a new book every two weeks and improve the variety of books I read.  So far I’ve been doing pretty good on this one and I’ve gone an entire week without reading an article on barbell strength training.   I’ve have however listened to a podcast on the subject.

 

Leave a Reply

