My dream gym.

Image

Despite the fact that I live in fabulous Las Vegas, I have yet to place a bet

Ok….that’s not totally true.  

A co-worker and I have an on-going gentlemen’s bet on how long it takes us to see trainers doing or saying something ridiculous in the gym.  I picked under 60 minutes of my arrival, he picked 61 minutes after 9 a.m.   So far we are tied evenly at 1-1.  For those at home keeping track, his win was actually spotted by me at exactly the 60 minute mark, mine was won in less than 2 minutes after arrival.

This fun side bet has given me thought, If I was to ever come into huge money, would I consider opening a gym of my own? If yes, what would it be like?

Image

 

Location,Location,Location.  I would like to build my gym in an safe area that could support it and have enough real estate around me to allow for outdoor boot camps and running.  Personally I would cap membership at a certain level to prevent overcrowding.

Image

Personal Trainers would be well-paid as I would only hire the best.  The prerequisites and hiring process would be quite strict and would include leading me through a workout of my deciding. This could include Corrective Exercise, Strength and Conditioning,CrossFit, Sports Performance or Nutritional guidance.    

Image

 

The gyms main floor would provide areas for strength and conditioning as well as functional training. Other sections of the gym would be set aside for personal training, corrective exercise, cardio (Gold’s Gym has a pretty cool cardio cinema thing going on) AstroTurf sports area and a powerlifting/Olympic lifting area where people could dump weights with abandon and use chalk.

There will be NO HIP ADDUCTOR or ABDUCTOR MACHINES WHATSOEVER NO MATTER HOW MANY CUSTOMER REQUESTS I RECEIVE.  REPEATED REQUESTS WILL BE DEALT WITH BY ISSUING LUNGES.

                               Image“Somebody HELLLLLLPPPP!!!!….My boyfriend overloaded the hip adductor machine!  Why couldn’t I have listened to My Trainer Chris and told him not to touch that thing?  Oh the humanity!……”

Image

 

Barbells, Dumbbells,Kettlebells, Plyo Boxes,Jump Ropes,Battle Ropes,Tires,Sleds,Hammers ,Ladders,Suspension Equipment, Climbing Ropes and some cable gear takes care of most needs.  Bands,Tubes,Foam Rollers and some small gear for the corrective exercise crowds and I’m pretty good to go.

Image

 

I think it would be pretty cool to have a large lot dedicated to pushing various sized vehicles from compacts to large SUV.  

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

